As 2016 comes to a close, it’s always nice to have something to look forward to.  One of my resolutions for the new year is to blog more, at least one post a month (I mean, I have to start somewhere.) So, why not end this year with a post about the movies of 2017 I am looking forward to!

Couple of disclaimers:

  • I’m not ranking these, and actually will be posting the “Top 10” in order of U.S. release.
  • Out of my “Top 10”, 8 of the movies are from franchises. I am totally down for new and original concepts and characters, don’t get me wrong. But it’s easier to anticipate seeing a continuation of a story or characters you already know.

Without further adieu:

 

The Lego Batman Movie (02/10)

legobat

For those of you that don’t know me, I am a huge Batman fan. Lego Batman was the highlight of The Lego Movie for me, so the fact he is getting his own spin-off makes me very happy.  The trailers make me smile each time I see one. Here’s hoping to see a fun, entertaining, and perhaps even light-hearted Batman film.

Kong: Skull Island (03/10)

kong-skull-island-poster-2

Giant Ape √

John Goodman √

Scary secondary monsters √

I’m sold. I am a little leary about the John C. Reily character, but it might just be in the trailer that he seems out of place.  I grew up on kaiju and giant monster movies, so I am pumped for this film.  And if it really does lead into a Kong vs Godzilla film? Sign me up NOW.

The Fate of the Furious (04/14)

fatetitle

This one I blame on the wife. Prior to meeting her, I had seen one film out of this franchise (2 Fast, 2 Furious). It just wasn’t really my thing, or so I thought. I’ve never been a car guy, and that’s what I associated with these movies. Thankfully, my lovely wife showed me there was more than just car racing to these films, and I have become a fan.  Especially since Fast 5 came out and the heist/caper aspect was added.

Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2 (05/05)

gotg2

Guardians of the Galaxy is my second favorite film in the MCU. Here’s hoping Gunn can make his second effort in the MCU as well, if not better, than his first.  From the trailer is looks like he will. And if it does falter a bit, at least we all have Baby Groot to look forward to!

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (05/26)

potc5

It’ll be 6 years since we last saw Captain Jack Sparrow on the screen when this film hits. Is that too much time to have pass for this franchise? I don’t know much in regards to the plot, but I do know there are ghost pirates, and that’s good enough for me. I also know Orlando Bloom is returning, which means The Flying Dutchman will (probably) see some action. As this is another franchise my wife loves (and I’m a big fan of the original trilogy, for the most part), anticipation runs high in our house.

Wonder Woman (06/02)

ww

Wonder Woman/Diana Prince was the best part of Batman vs. Superman, in my opinion. I am stoked to see her origin story told in film. This is the DCU movie I am most excited for in 2017.  (Yes, I will see Justice League come November, and I may even have some excitement for it by the time it is released. But to be honest, I’ve yet to see anything for it that has made me feel like the Wonder Woman trailer has.)

Transformers: The Last Knight (06/23)

t5

Yup. I enjoy this franchise. To me, it’s pure popcorn cinema. The teaser trailer has me interested, especially with the return of Josh Duhamel’s character.  Won’t be the best movie I see in 2017, but I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy the experience.

War for The Planet of the Apes (07/14)

pota3

True story: I had never seen any of the original PotA films before seeing Rise. I had seen the 2001 Tim Burton remake in theaters, which did nothing for me. But after seeing Rise, I went home and ordered the complete blu-ray set of the original films. The first is a classic, and not everyone loves the entire franchise, but I do. Rise and Dawn are great films, and War looks to be just as good.

Geostorm (10/20)

geostorm

Here is the ‘odd man out’ inclusion on my list.

“As a man heads into space to prevent climate-controlling satellites from creating a storm of epic proportions, his brother discovers a plot to assassinate the president.” That is the plot synopsis for this film. Besides starring Gerard Butler, that alone sells me this movie. I really do hope it gets a theatrical release.

Star Wars: Episode VIII (12/15)

epi8

I enjoyed The Force Awakens, and look forward to the next chapter in the Star Wars saga.  It’ll be bittersweet, with the recent passing of Carrie Fisher. Not much is known plot-wise, and I prefer to keep it that way.

A few other movies I’m looking forward to are:

  • John Wick: Chapter 2 (02/10)
  • The Mummy (06/09)
  • Blade Runner 2049 (10/06)
  • Kingsman: The Golden Circle (10/06)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (11/03)

 

I know there will be more, especially once trailers start dropping. Not everything will be theatrical, and that’s ok. DTV and VOD have improved in quality over the last decade, and some stuff released that way is better than theatrical fare.

So, what films of 2017 are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

